Students at Croydon Community School participate in a program which includes Advisory, compulsory and elective studies. This curriculum program has been designed to meet the individual needs of our students and takes into consideration their individual abilities.

The program offers a breadth of study across three major strands of the Victorian Essential Learning Standards (VELS): Disciplinary Learning; Interdisciplinary Learning; and Physical, Personal and Social Learning, whilst allowing students to specialise in areas of interest and passion.

The Disciplinary Learning areas are:

  • Arts
  • Humanities
  • English
  • Mathematics
  • Science

The Interdisciplinary Learning areas include:

  • Communication
  • Design, Creativity & Technology
  • ICT
  • Thinking

The Physical, Personal and Social Learning areas include:

  • Health & Physical Education
  • Personal Learning
  • Interpersonal Development
  • Civics and Citizenship

Croydon Community School has five learning goals. These goals are an integral component of each student's ILPS and are directly linked to the VELS for reporting purposes:

  1. Empirical reasoning
  2. Quantitative reasoning
  3. Communication
  4. Social reasoning
  5. Personal Qualities

Mapping VELS to Croydon Community School's learning goals